Ignatius Parish, Spring Valley

Ignatius Parish, Spring Valley

  • 213 W Franklin St # 13609
  • Spring Valley, Minnesota
  • 55975

Description

Saint Ignatius Catholic Church is a growing parish serving Catholic families in western Filmore County, in the Southeast portion of Minnesota. The parish was established in 1868 with the first church being built in 1878. A bigger church, built in 1908, was torn down and the current church was built in 1967 with the addition of classrooms and an apartment in 1987. The balcony was added in 2001 to provide much needed seating. As of July 1997, Saint Ignatius includes the former parish of Saint Killian of Wykoff. Saint Killian's first church was built in 1887. IN 1898 the church that was to stand for the reaminder of the parish's life was built. Father Edgar J. Schaefer was the first full-time pastor while Father Russell Scepaniak served the five and one-half years that the church was an oratory (with only special services held there). The church was closed by BGishop Bernard Harrington on November 17, 2003. The Saint Ignatius community is a vibrant faith community with the blending of parishioners from Saint Ignatius and Saint Killian's. Father Steven Peterson came to serve the parish in July of 2003, and he will help to continue the rich faith traditions of the church as he helps parishioners to move forward in faith.

Companies nearby